Chateau Cheval Blanc Saint Emilion Premier Grand Cru Classé 2001, Bordeaux, France




So a few years ago I started my Merlot Thursday series, where I drink Merlot every Thursday. This is actually the wine that started it all. After watching the movie sideways a few times, I decided to try to get Merlot back in the game.

This wine was on my wishlist for a long long time, and I’m glad I am able to try it, finally.

Medium plus in body with medium acidity.

Showing a beautiful nose with great complexity,

Dry on the palate and elegant.

Showing red and black fruits with earth, wood, spices, peppercorn, coffee, graphites, vegetables and herbs.

Long finish with round tannins and tangy raspberries.

This is a great experience. A delicious Merlot based Bordeaux blend from Saint Emilion. Not from the best vintage, but at this level of wine making, it is almost always gorgeous.

Feels young and would continue to age nicely in the next few decades.

Showing great complexity and mouthfeel. I loved the nose much better than the palate.

Robert Parker 93 points. Wine Spectator 93 points.

I had it after 6 hours of airtime. I really wanted to love it even more, but it is what it is. Got to keep it real.

A blend of 60% Merlot and 40% Cabernet Franc.

13.5% alcohol by volume.

93 points.

$700.

2 thoughts on “Chateau Cheval Blanc Saint Emilion Premier Grand Cru Classé 2001, Bordeaux, France

Leave a comment