Tommasi Amarone Della Valpolicella Classico 2013, Italy

Dark ruby in color with a short purple rim.

Light nose of blueberries, dried figs, raisins, vanilla, sweet raspberries, tobacco, herbs, wood, earth, chocolates, coffee, vegetables, leather and black pepper.

Medium plus in body with medium plus acidity and long legs.

Dry on the palate with plums, dark cherries, blueberries, wood, cloves, vanilla, spices, espresso, vegetables, earth, wet leaves, tobacco leaf and peppercorn.

Medium plus on the finish with grippy tannins and tangy pomegranates.

This is a young Amarone. Still not fully balanced, but already enjoyable by itself or with food. Showing nice complexity and a great mouthfeel.

I would recommend to let it open for a couple of hours to show the complexity and the big tannins.

Needs 5 to 10 years of additional bottle time, to properly mature and tone down on the tannins.

A Blend of 50% Corvina Veronese, 30% Rondinella, 15% Corvinone and 5% Oseleta. Aged for 3 years in Slovenian oak barrels.

15% alcohol by volume.

91 points.

$68.

5 thoughts on “Tommasi Amarone Della Valpolicella Classico 2013, Italy

  1. There was a sale last week (sent too fast before I finished my sentence) and they had this very Amarone from your post for 45 $ only. A bit out of my range though, I only bought the Rafael bottle.

    Like

  2. I do know their regular Valpolicella (not the Amarone I mean) Rafael Valpolicella from Tommasi, it used to be one of my favorite wines a couple of years ago. So reading your post made me fetch one of the bottles I had left (a 2012 vintage) and I also bought the current vintage from my usual local wine joint (a 2016). I will make tasting to see how the 2012 held up and to compare with the newer one. It’s a way cheaper wine between 11 to 15/17 dollars. There was a sale last week.

    Like

Leave a comment