Walnut Crest Pinot Grigio 2015, Italy 





My Rating 78 Points.   

Price $8.

 

Light lemon in color with a green tint.

Nice nose of green apples, citrus, grapefruits, limes, almonds, metals and white pepper.

Light to Medium-bodied, crisp and refreshing, with medium plus acidity.

Bitter on the palate with grapefruits, green apples, vegetables, lemons, cream and almonds.

Short finish with bitter almonds.

This Italian Pinot Grigio is bitter, nicely balanced, refreshing and simple.
Better with seafood. Might be good for hanging out by the pool with a cheese plate.

12% alcohol by volume.

8 thoughts on “Walnut Crest Pinot Grigio 2015, Italy 

  1. I gather that you are not very impressed. May I ask what makes this Pinot Grigio rate lower, in your opinion? It’s not kosher, so I’ve never had it, but I like PInot Grigios in general for crispness and light body. You are saying that this one is medium to light body; is that a strike against it?

    Liked by 1 person

            1. Oh, that is a great question period I usually use Manischewitz grape, I do not like the BlackBerry. It is usually the most favorite for everyone else. If you want to go fancier it all depends on your budget. My favorite would be the Yarden Cabernet Sauvignon. $33 at Total Wine.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. That’s a great answer, thank you. Manischewitz is not our thing, but Yarden cab sounds great. I think we’ve had it at a tasting a few years ago, and liked it, I am just wondering, after 4 cups of it, and then some more with the meal, who is going to be able to conclude the seder… I think we’ll stick to Rashi Red light, and have Yarden cab with the meal.

                Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

